Facebook is a social media and social networking website founded in 2004. It is a free service that allows its subscribers to stay connected with one another while sharing several content such as photos, videos, articles, and their opinions. If you want to permanently delete Facebook account then you have come to the right place as we will be showing you the correct procedure to follow.
How to permanently delete your Facebook account
Remember that when you permanently delete your account you will no longer have access to this so make sure that this is what you want to do.
- You will not be able to reactivate your account.
- Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.
- You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
- You won’t be able to use Facebook Login for other apps you may have signed up for with your Facebook account.
- Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you delete your account. Copies of messages you have sent are stored in your friends’ inboxes.
Before deleting make a backup of your data
It’s best to download a copy of your complete Facebook data before deleting your account. Take note that the downloaded file will be password protected which only you can access. The file will be available in a few days, you will know when it’s ready to download since you will get a notification.
- Click in the top right down arrow of Facebook, then click Settings.
- In the left column, click Your Facebook Information.
- Next to Download Your Information, click View.
- To add or remove categories of data from your request, click the boxes on the right side of Facebook. Select other options, including: The format of your download request, The quality of photos, videos and other media, a specific date range of information. If you don’t select a date range, you’ll request all the information for the categories you’ve selected.
- Click Create File to confirm the download request.
Once you get a notification that the file is ready to download proceed with the following steps.
- Go to the Available Files section of the Download Your Information tool.
- Click Download and Enter your password.
Permanently deleting Facebook
Once you have a backup copy of your Facebook account it’s time to start the deletion process.
- Click the down arrow at the top right of the Facebook page.
- Click Settings then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
- Click Deactivation and Deletion.
- Choose Delete Account , then click Continue to Account Deletion.
- Enter your Password, click Continue and then click Delete Account.
Take note that you can only cancel the account deletion within 30 days starting from the day you initiated the deletion process. After 30 days you account will be permanently deleted.
What if you change your mind
You can always cancel the deletion of your account as long as it is within the 30 day grace period.
To cancel the deletion just login to your Facebook account then choose cancel deletion.
Taking a break from Facebook
If deleting your account permanently is not what you want to do but you want to take a break from Facebook then you can consider temporarily deactivating your account.
- Your Facebook profile can’t be seen by anyone.
- Your photos, posts and videos won’t be deleted.
- You can still use Facebook Messenger. Your profile picture will still be visible in your conversations and people will still be able to search for you by name to send you a message. You will continue to appear to friends on Facebook in places where they can message you.
- You can still use Facebook Login for your other apps, like Spotify, Pinterest or Games.
- You can choose to come back whenever you want.
To temporarily deactivate Facebook just follow the steps listed below.
- Click the down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page.
- Click Settings, then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
- Click Deactivation and Deletion.
- Choose Deactivate Account, then click Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.
To reactivate your account just login back to Facebook. Take note you will need access to the email address or mobile number that is connected with the account.